The 8th session of the National Assembly will meet today at 4 pm

National Assembly

The eighth session of the National Assembly, the upper house of the federal parliament, will begin on Thursday. 

President Bidya Devi Bhandari has convened the convention at 4 pm on the recommendation of the Council of Ministers in accordance with Article 93 (1) of the Constitution of Nepal.

The Business Advisory Committee, chaired by National Assembly Speaker Ganesh Prasad Timilsina, will set the agenda for the meeting on the first day of this kharif session.

However, at the beginning of the meeting, a letter from the President’s Office regarding the convening of the convention and the reorganization of the Council of Ministers will be read out.

On the occasion of the commencement of the convention, the leaders of the political parties represented in the assembly have a tradition of wishing success. An ordinance issued in the meantime will also be presented at the meeting.

The bill will not be able to reach a conclusion from this convention which is about to start without a House of Representatives. In the absence of the House of Representatives, the Opposition will have a platform for serious debate and discussion on issues related to the current affairs and livelihood of the country.

There is a constitutional provision for the President to convene a session of both or both houses from time to time. 

Before the government’s decision to dissolve the House of Representatives last December, the sessions of the House of Representatives and the National Assembly were convened simultaneously. 

The last time the House of Representatives was dissolved on May 22, the National Assembly session was called differently.

The seventh session of the 59-member National Assembly, which represents enlightened groups that have earned fame in various fields of society, started on January 1 and ended on January 10.

 There is a constitutional provision that the period between the end of one convention and the beginning of another should not exceed six months.

At present, the National Assembly has three members elected from the CPN (UML), Nepali Congress, CPN (Maoist Center), and Jaspa Nepal, and three nominated by the President on the recommendation of the Council of Ministers. 

The last time Dr. elected on May 20 and 31. Khimlal Devkota (Bagmati, Independent) and Drugnarayan Pandey (Lumbini, Congress) are new entrants to the National Assembly session.