Amar Singh Pun Magar elected Congress president of Lumbini

Amar Singh Pun Magar
Photo: Onlinekhabar

Amar Singh Pun Magar of the non-establishment group has been elected as the Nepali Congress Lumbini state president.

Pun defeated Bharat Kumar Shah of the establishment party by a margin of 85 votes. Winning Pun got 852 votes while Shah got 767 votes.

In the election, 1631 votes were cast. Former Minister of State, Member of the Constituent Assembly, and outgoing President of the Nepali Congress Rolpa.

Except for one vice-president, all the re-panel candidates have won. Amar Singh Pun Magar

Bhuwan Shrestha (Gulmi) from Establishment and Raju Khanal (Dang) from Establishment has been elected as the two vice-presidents. Ashtabhuja Pathak of Rupandehi and Sudhakar Pandey (Kapilvastu) of Establishment were defeated.

Similarly, Bikram Khanal (Nawalparasi West) and Surendra Raj Acharya (Kapilvastu) have won the general election, said Advocate Jivanarayan Adhikari, a member of the election committee. Khiman Singh Rayamajhi and Janmajay Timalsina of the establishment were defeated.

Nima Giri has won the post of women joint general minister. She defeated Sarita Chaudhary of the establishment party. Bishnu Khanal Muskan of Arghakhanchi and Khagraj Pandey of Dang won the open joint general election. It took two days for the results of Saturday’s vote to come out.