Chitwan Tigers won the EPL title, Pokhara lost by 4 wickets

Chitwan tigers won EPL
Photo: Shankar Giri / Onlinekhabar

The Chitwan Tigers have won the Everest Premier League (EPL) 2021 with the help of Kamal Singh Airee’s superb bowling and Bhim Sarki’s half-century.

Chitwan defeated Pokhara Rhinos by 4 wickets in the final held at the Tribhuvan Cricket Ground in Kirtipur on Saturday.

Chitwan completed the target of 112 runs set by Pokhara by losing 6 wickets in 15.5 overs. Bhim Sarki played 65 balls for Chitwan and scored 63 runs with the help of 7 fours and 2 sixes.

Similarly, Dilip Nath added 18 runs, Rajesh Pulami added 14 runs and Mohammad Shahzad added 11 runs. In the first over, Hasim Ansari was caught by Binod Bhandari off Nandan Yadav. In the next over, Karim Jannat was also caught out for zero by Richard Levy off Kishore Mahato.

After Mohammad Shahzad was dismissed for 11 in the last ball of the fourth over, Chitwan lost 3 wickets for 20 runs in 4 overs. Kishor got Shahzad caught out by Vipin Rawal.

Chitwan Tigers won the EPL
Photo: Shankar Giri / OnlineKhabar

But then Bhim Sarki and Dilip Nath took over Chitwan’s innings. The two shared a half-century to lay the groundwork for Chitwan’s victory. Bhim and Dilip shared 54 runs for the fourth wicket.

Dilip Nath was dismissed for 18 in the 12th over. Dilip was caught out by Kishore Mahato from Lokesh Bam. Rajesh Pulami scored 14 runs in the first ball of the 15th over and was bowled by Nandan Yadav.

Bhim, who scored the highest 63 runs, was dismissed in the 16th over. Bhim Kishor Mahato’s ball was caught by Ritu Gautam when he needed two runs to win.
After that, captain Sompal Kami hit a four off the first ball to give Chitwan the victory.