cpn uml split to form new party

UML schism: Nepal-Khanal group to form a new party

After Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli dismissed the House of Representatives (HoR) for the second time, the ruling CPN-UML appeared to be on the approach of a new split.

The party is poised to dissolve after the establishment camp stripped 11 parliamentarians of party general memberships, including senior UML leader Madhav Nepal and Jhala Nath Khanal of the disgruntled side.

Nepal and Khanal served as party leaders for 15 and 12 years, respectively.

If there is no dramatic turn of events, the CPN-UML will split solely as a formality.

The leaders of the Nepal-Khanal division have stated that Oli’s action has no value because he is hell-bent on eradicating Nepal’s communist movement.

They have stated that they will form a new party in cooperation with the other communist parties since Oli is plotting to bring the communist movement to an end.

“Oli’s action has no significance. We are willing to go to any length to defend the communist movement. We tried everything we could to help our party chair Oli, but it was all in vain. Now, we will openly resist Oli’s anarchic, dictatorial, and anti-democratic attitude,” stated Nepal-Khanal UML leader Birodh Khatiwada.

The CPN-UML removed 11 leaders from the party on Monday, including Madhav Kumar Nepal and Jhala Nath Khanal.

A Standing Committee meeting convened yesterday evening at the Prime Minister’s official house agreed to fire the 11 leaders and seek clarification from 12 others within 24 hours. It also opted to leave the Sudurpaschim Province government.

On Monday afternoon, 23 UML parliamentarians affiliated with the party’s Nepal wing signed a petition against the dissolution of parliament. Bhim Rawal, Mukunda Neupane, Ram Kumari Jhankri, Sarala Yadav, Pushpa Kumari Karna, Kalila Khatun, Niradevi Jairu, Laxmi Chaudhary, and Kalyani Khadka are among the other leaders who have been permanently removed from the party.

They failed to provide the clarification requested on Saturday for their support for opposition coalition candidate Sher Bahadur Deuba. The deadline for submitting explanations was Monday morning.

The establishment has fined senior leaders Nepal, Bhim Rawal, Surendra Pandey, and Ghanashyam Bhusal for the second time.

The remaining 12 lawmakers have been given 24 hours to respond.

After the establishment faction took action against the Bamdev Gautam group in 2054 BS, the UML split.

Yukesh Chaudhary

Yukesh Chaudhary is a Nepalese Entrepreneur & Founder of Niriv. He likes Blogging, Building Companies & Relationships, Innovating & Investing.

More Reading

Post navigation

CPN UML Preparing to send explanation letters to 11 leaders on May 23

‘Opposition parties together to restore monarchy’ – Khim Lal Bhattarai

Yadav Chandra Sharma appointed as the Bagmati state chief

Congress convention ends in 322 state constituencies