Gandaki cricket team announced for national tournament

Gandaki cricket team

The Gandaki cricket team for the Prime Minister Cup national men’s cricket tournament has been announced.

The Gandaki Provincial Cricket Association has selected 18 players for the competition, which will be hosted by the Cricket Association of Nepal (CAN) in Kathmandu beginning December 10.

The team consists of 14 regular players and four reserve players. Bishal Poudel is the team’s vice-captain. According to Gandaki Cricket Association President Devendra Praju, the other players are Bidhan Shrestha, Deepak Dumre, Arjun Kumal, Anil Gurung, Govind BK, Sandeep Khatri, Abhishek Basnet, Kamal Pariyar, Subhash Bhandari, Ashok Shrestari, Krishna Poudel, and Chandrakant Poudel.

Reserve players include Amrit Gurung, Dinesh Budhamgar, Rovin Timilsina, and Sameer Poudel. Rinaj Praju has been named coach, and Chandra Kumar Gurung (Jimmy) has been named team manager.

The cricketers were chosen through a provincial election process held on December 24 at Pokhara Stadium’s cricket venue for the Prime Minister Cup Tournament. The competition was held in four districts: Syangja, Tanahu, Kaski, and Nawalpur, with Kaski emerging as the winner.