Oli is likely, in accordance with Article 76(3), to be PM again

Politics7 Views

The majority of the government formed by Prime Minister KP Oli-led in accordance with Article 76(1) of the Constitution fell into a caretaker government on Monday after it had failed to secure a vote of confidence in the parliament.

In accordance with Article 100(1), Prime Minister Oli tabled a motion of confidence in the House saying he had had problems governing the government.

Of the 232 legislators who attended Parliament’s extraordinary session, 93 voted for Oli, 124 voted against him, and 15 remained neutral.

Under Article 100(3), if a vote of confidence is not secured, the Prime Minister shall be relieved from his position.


Now, within 30 days from the date the Prime Minister was removed, in accordance with Article 76(2), the parliament must elect a new government .


In accordance with Article 76(2), Bidya Bhandari has already requested the creation of a new government to pave the way for the new governing parties.


According to Article 76(2), the President may appoint as Prime Minister a parliamentary legislator with a majority of two or more political parties.

This provision requires the formation of a new government by up to 136 lawyers from 271 members.


There are 124 legislators who opposed the trust vote. A majority requires 12 additional votes. In accordance with Article 76(4), the new Prime Minister must obtain a vote of confidence within 30 days.


If, under this provision, the Prime Minister has not secured a vote of assurance, the President may elect the leader of the largest party in the parliament in accordance with Article 76 (3).

There are 121 lawmakers in the biggest CPN-UML, 63 in the Nepal Congress (two suspended), 53 in the Maoism Center, and the Janata Samajwadi Group (34 suspended) (two suspended). Rastriya Janamorcha (RJM), the NWPP, Rastriya Prajatantra Party (RPP) and the independent parties are likewise each with a single legislator. They also have one legislator.


If NC (61), Maoist Center (49) and JSP (32) are united, 141 lawmakers will be present. For a majority government of the existing 271 legislators, this number is more than 136 required.

But the NC-Maoist Center alliance is split by JSP over the constitution of a coalition government.

The group Thakur-Mahato will not join the alliance of the NC-Maoist Center