Oli and Deuba stake a claim to the position of Prime Minister


Within the time limit set by President Bidya Devi Bhandari, Prime Minister KP Oli and Nepali Congress President Sher Bahadur Deuba staked their claims for the position of Prime Minister.

With the signatures of 149 lawmakers, Nepali Congress President Deuba has staked a claim to be Prime Minister.

He made his claim by collecting signatures from the Nepali Congress, the CPN Maoist Center, the Madhav Kumar Nepal faction of the UML, and the Baburam Bhattarai and Upendra Yadav factions of the Janata Samajbadi Party.

Prime Minister KP Oli, meanwhile, has registered the signatures of 153 lawmakers in support of his candidacy.

PM Oli has received signatures from 121 UML lawmakers as well as 32 JSP MPs from the Mahanta Thakur and Rajendra Mahato factions.