Omicron variant spreads in 10 countries

Covid-1918 Views

A new variant of Coronavirus (Covid-19) has so far spread to 10 countries. According to the latest data, Omicron infections have been found in 10 countries including South Africa so far.

The World Health Organization (WHO) has called Omicron a “matter of concern.” But the organization says it will take a few more weeks to confirm how contagious Omicron is and whether existing vaccine and treatment methods will work against it.

In which countries did this new variant spread?

According to various media outlets, Omicron variants have been found in 10 countries so far.

1. Australia

The Australian Department of Health said omikron was found in two passengers. Both came to Sydney via Doha from infected Qatar Airways. The other 12 passengers on board the same ship from the area did not show any infection but were kept in quarantine.

2. Italy

According to the Italian news agency Lapresse, a man returning from Mozambique has tested positive for Omicron. Five members of her family, including two children, were infected, Lapres said.

3. Germany

According to the German news agency DPA, the Omicron variant was confirmed in the two passengers who boarded the ship from South Africa on November 24. There is no doubt that the passengers have been infected with the new variant even though the gene sequencing is yet to be done.

4. The Netherlands

Health officials in the Netherlands on Friday confirmed Covid-19 to 61 passengers from South Africa and said some of them may be infected with the new Omicron variant.

5. United Kingdom

Omicron variants have been confirmed in two people in the UK. British Health Minister Sajid Javid said the two had traveled to the infected South African region.

6. Israel

Israel has taken various emergency measures after an Omicron variant was found in a person. On November 26, a man from Malawi was diagnosed with an Omicron variant, according to the health minister.

7. Hong Kong

Hong Kong is the second country to find Omicron variants after South Africa. According to the latest details, two people have been confirmed to be infected with Omicron.

8. Botswana

The South African country of Botswana has so far been infected with a new variant.

9. Belgium

Belgium is the first European country to report confirmation of Omicron infection. An infected Omicron was found there on Friday. According to the Belgian Minister of Health, Frank Vandenbr्रुck, those who have come from abroad but have not been vaccinated have been confirmed to be infected with Omicron.

10. Czech Republic

A spokesman for the regional hospital in the northern city of Liberec, Vaclav Rikar, told Czech television on Saturday that a woman had been confirmed to have an omikron. “My colleagues at the Department of Genetic and Molecular Diagnostics have confirmed that there is a 90 percent chance of a new variant after gene sequencing,” he said.

But no one in neighboring India was infected with Omicron until Sunday evening. Two South Africans tested positive for corona in the state of Karnataka on Saturday. However, both were found to be infected with the Delta variant, not Omicron.

In collaboration with agencies