Sher Bahadur Deuba Wins Vote of Confidence

Politics52 Views

Nepal’s Current Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba Wins Vote of Confidence

Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba has received a vote of confidence. 

Deuba, who was appointed as the Prime Minister in accordance with Article 76, Clause 5 of the Constitution after the Supreme Court’s order, took a vote of confidence within five days of his appointment. Deuba received 165 votes in Sunday’s parliamentary vote. 

There were 83 votes against. There is one vote in favor of giving such a vote. A total of 249 MPs participated today. 

Deuba has been voted in by the Nepali Congress, Maoist Center, Janata Samajwadi Party (JSP), Rashtriya Janamorcha, and UML’s Madhav Kumar Nepal. 

Similarly, MPs from the Oli faction have also crossed the floor. 

Prem Ale Krishna Kumar Shrestha Kisan, who is the Forest Minister in the Oli-led government, has voted for Deuba. 

Similarly, Hira KC, Parvati Bisunkhe, Kalila Khatun, Bina Thapa Magar, Dhan Bahadur Budha, Samima Hussain, Prem Ale, and Kisan Shrestha have voted for Sher Bahadur Deuba. All of them are former MPs on Oli’s side. 

Meanwhile, UML MP Metmani Chaudhary said that 22 UML MPs along with Nepal had given a vote of confidence to Prime Minister Deuba. 

Deuba had decided to take a vote of confidence in the first meeting of the reconstituted House of Representatives after receiving the support of the Maoists, JSP, Rashtriya Janamorcha, and the Nepali side of the five-party alliance.