The US imposes a trade ban on 14 more Chinese companies

US imposes a trade ban on 14 more Chinese companies

The US government on Friday decided to put 14 more Chinese companies on the trade ban list.

NHK World, citing the US Department of Commerce, said in a news release that the companies had been placed on sanctions for their involvement in human rights abuses in the Xinjiang Uyghur region.

Many Chinese companies that offer high-tech surveillance systems are also part of the US list. According to NHK World, the banned companies have been accused by the United States of enabling the Chinese Communist Party’s (CCP) campaign of mass detention and high-tech surveillance against Uighurs and other ethnic minorities in the region.

According to the report, US Secretary of Commerce Gina Raymondo said the US Department of State was committed to taking strong and decisive action to target human rights abuses in Xinjiang.

The NHK says the Biden administration has taken strong action against “Beijing’s human rights abuses.” Two months ago, the United States added five Chinese solar panel companies to a banned list, accusing them of using forced labor in the Xinjiang Uyghur region.

The Chinese government has denied the allegations, saying the sanctions were based on “false allegations”.

China has claimed that it has not treated Uighur Muslims unequally. However, the United States and its allies have accused the Uighur Muslim community of interfering in their religious activities and harassing members of the community.

The CCP, meanwhile, has strongly opposed the US decision, saying there were no human rights abuses against Uighurs in Xinjiang. (RASAS-ANI)